From watching a tech talk a few years ago by Googler on backup, my understanding is that they just delete the encryption key (I believe everyone's data is encrypted with a per user key).
Your data may still live out on some server - but it is effectively unrecoverable.
Your data may still live out on some server - but it is effectively unrecoverable.